About Avery

The album <em>Avery</em> is named after Emtee’s own son and traverses his journey from being broke to becoming a household hip hop name. It features the smash hit Roll Up and Pearl Thusi with guest appearances by AKA, Wizkid, Nasty C, Fifi Cooper and more. The album’s newest single is Five-0 which is currently climbing up the charts.

In early 2015, a friend of eMTee, his producer Ruff produced the beat for the song that would eventually become his debut single "Roll Up". eMTee claimed that the entire track was recorded and finalized in two hours. "Roll Up" received major radio play in Southern Africa and peaked at the top of DJ Speedsta's hip hop chart on YFM. Wizkid and South African rapper AKA featured on the official re-release of his single, which eMTee called Roll Up Re-Up". He said that "Roll Up" was recorded within a tight schedule, because he and team were finalizing his debut album.

eMTee won his first award and nomination for the Song Of The Year award at the 2015 South African Hip Hop Awards, due to the single "Roll Up". "Roll Up" competed in a category where two South African gold selling artists as well as Khuli Chana each made at least two appearances.

The next day on December 4, 2015, eMTee's debut album Avery was released on iTunes and to domestic music retailers. eMtee is currently the third most played South African hip hop artist in the latter part of 2015 (10th most played artist overall).

On 9th July 2016, Avery was certified Platinum. The album pushed 40,000 units to claim the title which was certified by the Recording Industry of South Africa (RISA) who presented his record label, Ambitiouz Entertainment with a certificate.